Archive for April 1, 2009

It’s all about the water

Friends from the States have asked me if I still like living in Mexico after 3 months….if there are any surprises or disappointments. My answer is always the same, I love it! It is true  that living in a place where you frequently took your vacations is a very different (hey, Santa Fe is a primo example!) experience.  But there are actually advantages to living here full time that you dont get when just coming for a week.

For instance, building relationships with folks who also are living here full-time…finding opportunities to support the community and improve it…discovering more about the culture on the Nayarit coast and in other Mexican regions. All these activities are benefited by sustained and devoted thought. For me, that is spiritual thought — where I am planted is what I see everyday and gives me lots to pray about and, I expect, to benefit.

But I have to say that the physical surround of the water, the waves, the beach, the warm air is so satisfying to me everyday! When I grew up in Northern California the beach was mostly for pea coats, sweaters, jeans, hats….fog, windy, water temp in the 50’s (just guessing!). In the summer, like mid to late summer, my mom would take us off for a day at Bolinas beach — it was hot in town, no fog coming in, so the beach was going to be perfect for swimming!

Oh joy….we loaded the innertubes and picnic lunch for the whole day. All I remember about those regular summer trips was sitting in my innertube floating on the waves or jumping into them….I honestly dont remember getting out of the water until it was time to go home. Happy happy days. Bless my dear mom for being the lifeguard for us kids…I hope she enjoyed it as much as we did.

So, fast forward to a few weeks ago when I took my first surf lesson. I attempted to get up the first time, fell off the board and thought “Wow, that is the first time I have gotten my head wet in the ocean since summers in Bolinas!” Long time ago.

My surf instructor said that anyone can learn how to surf (eventually), but the toughest nuts are those who are afraid of the water. 

Not me…it is like coming home.

April 1, 2009 at 3:43 pm Leave a comment


April 2009
M T W T F S S
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930