Archive for April 6, 2007

How can I live a life of grace?

Awhile ago I took one of those quasi-personality tests that companies give for interview purposes. One of the questions was “Do you have dreams where you are always looking for something?”

Whoah, yeah! I am looking for my purse, books, people, my way home, etc. Never ends. What does it mean?? The test didn’t explain itself (neither do my dreams), so I thought about it for a few days. And then it hit me: in my conscious days I am always looking for the deeper meaning in things, like events or what people do. More specifically, I am always looking for the spiritual meaning and its evidence in daily life.

That spiritual connection between the human and divine occupies a lot of my life. Even when I am in a conversation with someone, many times I will tap into a spiritual perspective before I say anything. What I really hope is happening is that in some way the activities of my daily life have some measure of spirit…even grace.

I read somewhere that an old Greek definition of “grace” is “the divine influence upon the heart and its reflection in the life.” To me, grace is the evidence of spirituality practiced.

My night dreams always end making me feel kinda unfulfilled because I never seem to find what I am looking for. Maybe it means (there I go again!) that this search for meaning never ends. But in my awake days I always find some evidence of spirituality practiced, if not by me then by others. Searching for evidence of grace is a good thing to do, don’t you think?

April 6, 2007 at 9:44 am Leave a comment


April 2007
M T W T F S S
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30